Counselor Education Research Guide

The Reference sources (below and at right) can provide useful overviews of topics including: developmental theories, counseling theories, psychopathology conditions, addictive substances, and biographical information. These sources are VERY useful for CLG501, CLG503, CLG519, and CLG547 papers/projects.  

Print Reference Books in Feinberg ESC:

• Handbook of group counseling and psychotherapy- Ref. RC488 .H353 2004
• Handbook of pediatric psychology in school settings- Ref.  LB1027.55 .H36 2004
• Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology- Ref. RJ503.3 .E53 2003
• An A-Z of counselling theory and practice- Ref. BF637.C6 S768 2001
• The encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis- Ref. RC437 .E49 1996
• Encyclopedia of mental health- Ref. RA790.5 .E53 1998
• The Cambridge encyclopedia of human growth and development- Ref. QP84 .C26 1998
• The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology- Ref. HM251 .B476 1995 

Reference E-books:

• Key Thinkers in Psychology
• Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
• Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
• Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
• Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
• Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus

Virtual Reference Library
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

Encyclopedia.com
Composed of high-quality articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition

Encarta (Microsoft)
A gateway to 17,000 encyclopedia articles, multimedia, a talking dictionary, and a world atlas

CREDO Reference Collection [Link to overview and features ] Was Xreferplus Reference Collection
Contains over 2 million entries from reference books in all major subjects, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps, and photos), and over 93,000 audio pronunciation files.