366 digitized posters representing a variety of social, political, and cultural issues, including public health, education, liberation and independence, political campaigns, the anti-apartheid movement, Biafra, Darfur, economics, art, publishing, and music.
Including African-American Pamphlet Collection, African-American Sheet Music, Frederick Douglass Papers, Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, Southern Black Churches texts, First-Person Narratives of the American South, and more...
Interviews with over 2,300 former slaves conducted by FDR-sponsored researchers between 1936-1938 on issues including labor, resistance and flight, family life, relations with masters, and religious belief
Highly recommended by Choice Reviews Online-"...admirable mix of the scholarly and popular...to facilitate and encourage the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture and responsible leadership through Hiphop.”
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subjects like education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Provides texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Contains "digitized versions of the original reel-to-reel recordings that Warren compiled for each of his interviewees as well as print materials related to the project. All of the print materials appear on the website in two versions: an image of the original document which is not searchable and a re-transcribed document which is searchable."