LibGuides: Military Studies Research Guide: Famous Battles

Books in our library

Search Feinberg, NYS libraries, and libraries worldwide
Search for resources available at Feinberg Library, as well as New York State libraries, and libraries worldwide. Items not available at Feinberg Library can be delivered to you here for free using the Interlibrary loan system.

We Have E-Books Too!

100 Decisive Battles: From Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: Ebook

Here are two of the E-books we have in linked our library catalog.

Europe Since 1914: encyclopedia of the age of war and reconstruction by John Merriman & Jay Winter
Call Number: Ebook

Articles & Videos About Famous Battles

Search any of these electronic reference resources (listed below and right) for the battle you are interested in researching. Examples include: Verdun (Battle of, 1916), Dien Bien Phu (Battle of, 1954), and Stalingrad (Battle of, 1942-1943).

Reader's Companion to Military History
Encyclopedia of World History
Reader's Companion to American History
America: History & Life
Index and summaries to articles on history (including military history) of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
Historical Abstracts
Index and summaries of articles on world history, including military history (except the United States and Canada)

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus

Virtual Reference Library
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

Encyclopedia.com
Composed of high-quality articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition

Encarta (Microsoft)
A gateway to 17,000 encyclopedia articles, multimedia, a talking dictionary, and a world atlas