Popular Culture Research Guide

Provides critical analysis of popular culture in the US, as well as resources on various forms of popular culture, including music, film, television, advertising, sports, fashion, toys, magazines and comic books, and cyberculture.

Strong collection in popular fiction, entertainment, graphic arts, and more.

Thousands of still and moving images including topics such as advertising (Advertising Collections) and sheet music (Historic American Sheet Music).

Primary sources throughout American history.

Aggregates reviews of movies, TV, games, and music.

Remember pet rocks?

The database contains more than 3,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, & movie star ephemera.

Contains credits for movies and television shows, as well as biographical information, box office, and more.

Includes the National Film Registry, an annual list of 25 American films "of enduring importance." This site contains resources about film, TV, preservation, legislation, and careers.

Contains nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements, and an online database of program/episode synopses, along with production credits for the programs.

Searchable online collection of films, television programs, newsreels and audio recordings.

From the Library of Congress: Chronicling America allows you to "search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922."

U.S. and International Newspapers.

Contains nearly 500,000 images of comic book, book, pulp fiction, games, DVD & magazine covers.

Reviews, biographies, discographies, and more. Searchable by artist, song, album, genre, and mood.

Contains classical music timelines, composer biographies, reviews and recommendations for recordings, and basic repertoire lists.

Want to know who was on top of the charts on certain dates? The library has full-text access to Billboard magazine from 1988-present through various databases.

Features, ratings, reviews, and recaps of movies, TV, games, music, books, and podcasts.

Popular culture news and discussion.

Bridges academic and popular cultural writing about TV, movies, music, books, comics, and games.

Lists, recaps, reviews, articles, and more for TV, movies, music.

Ceased publishing, but archives still available. Includes sports in its popular culture coverage, as well as TV, music, movies, and more through recaps, features, reviews, podcasts, and videos.