LibGuides: HDF311: Families in Contemporary Society: Find Articles

Keyword FAQs

Brainstorm keywords! You might think "egg donors" is a sufficient search but the databases use different and/or related search terms: Can you guess what the actual search term is?
Search by subject field! The subject "families" retrieved 95,347 results, while the keyword "families" retrieved 340,299 results.
Limit by population of interest: adoptive parents, adoptive families, homeless families, african american families, hispanic american families, immigrant families, single parents, egg donors, LGBT parents, stepfamilies

Recommended Databases for HDF311

Try these databases first to find articles related to child abuse & neglect research.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full-text access to journal articles covering all aspects of sociology and related fields. Coverage includes criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, social work and substance abuse. Indexing included for books and conference papers. Coverage is from 1895 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally since 1840.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and books on counseling, child & adolescent psychology and other areas of psychology.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text of medical journals in all areas of medicine and health care
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 17,000 legal, business, and news sources, with US and broad international coverage. Formerly named LexisNexis.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Information on social issues, including overviews, statistics, primary sources, websites, and full-text articles from a variety of perspectives.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good place to start. Full text, scholarly articles on all subjects.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 250 key scientific, business, medical, and social sciences journals from Elsevier Publishing, and abstracts and metadata for 1500 more journals.

Ask for Help!

You can self-schedule a research appointment with a librarian by choosing a convenient appointment time here:

Meet with a Librarian