Adirondack Research Guide

"The Library of the Adirondack Museum is the largest, most comprehensive repository of books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps and government documents relating to the history of the Adirondack region. The library-of-record for the Adirondack Park, it collects, preserves, and organizes all forms of information related to the region, and shares that information with researchers and others with a strong interest in the Adirondacks world wide."
Email: Ivy Gocker at igocker@theADKX.org
Phone: (518) 352-7311, ext. 108.
Address: Rt. 28N & 30, Blue Mountain Lake, NY 12812

"The Adirondack Research Library is a partnership between Protect the Adirondacks and the Kelly Adirondack Center at Union College."
"The Adirondack Research Library maintains the largest collection of Adirondack informational materials outside of the Park boundaries. It has maps, periodicals, technical reports, photos, slides, video and audio tapes, and archival materials from prominent Adirondack conservationists of the 19th and 20th centuries."
Email: ADK@union.edu
Phone: (518) 280-5951
Address: 897 St. Davids Lane, Niskayuna, NY 12309

"The State Library's collections include over 20 million items that support State government work and the research needs of the general public."
Reference Desk Phone: (518) 474-5355
Address: 222 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12230

"Hill Collection Room: This is a collection of 1,400 books and other items about this region, dating from the mid-18th century to the present, donated by the William Hart Hill family."
Phone: (518) 743-2260, the reference desk extension is 2462.
Address: Scoville Learning Center, 640 Bay Road, Queensbury, NY 12804

"Special Collections unit focuses on select aspects of Northern New York History. Included in these collections are the papers of Congressmen Bertrand Snell and David O’Brien Martin, as well as books and other historic materials that document the Adirondacks, the St. Lawrence River and Seaway, and local history."
Email: library@potsdam.edu
Phone: (315) 267-2485
Address: 44 Pierrepont Avenue, Potsdam, NY 13676

"Special Collections includes many items of local interest, including the towns of Gabriels, Brighton, & Paul Smiths. The photos cover everything from historic Adirondack scenery and the Hotel Company's electric railroad to Presidential pets and devastating disasters in the form of the 1930 Hotel Fire."
Email: library@paulsmiths.edu
Phone: (518) 327-6313
Address: 7833 New York 30, Paul Smith's, NY 12970

"Special Collection focuses on the northern New York State counties of Clinton, Essex, and Franklin, and the Adirondack and Champlain Valley regions. "
Email: reference@plattsburgh.edu
Phone: (518) 564-5182
Address: 2 Draper Ave., Plattsburgh, NY 12901

"The Local History/Archives area contains a special collection of books, periodicals, manuscripts, pamphlets and clippings that relate to Watertown, Jefferson County, the North Country, the Adirondacks, and Jefferson Community College."
Email: reference@sunyjefferson.edu
Phone: (315) 786-2482
Address: 1220 Coffeen Street, Watertown, New York 13601