Music Research Guide

The Bodleian Library allows access to over 30,000 ballads ranging in era from the 16th to the 20th centuries.

Access to and information on folksongs of the world -- there is a specific focus on English language folksongs.

"The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas." -From the website

Information on Mozart's life -- an ongoing project.

From San Jose State University, the Ira F. Brilliant Center is the only institution devoted to the study of Beethoven's works and life.

A collection of music from the Jewish Theological Seminary.

La Trobe University provides a databased filled with information on music from the medieval era. Although the site has not been updated in many years, the information is still helpful.

"Despite its primary emphasis on the blues and ragtime, the Samuel and Ann Charters Archives spans the entire 20th century, beginning with African-American spirituals and the ragtime of Scott Joplin and other early composers, and ending with Snoop Doggy Dogg and the rappers of the late 20th century." Website collection overview

An archive of information on the Monterey Jazz Festival -- preserved by Stanford University.

A collection of information on the history of Jazz in Louisiana, rich in Creole culture, this website is a great resource.

A breif history of Jazz music, "pre-swing era."

Information on the history of hip-hop and what it is today.

A website that provides extensive book lists. Very helpful.